Why Women Should Weightlift

It is not really a secret that I am a weightlifting enthusiast. Just talking about the subject causes me to get visibly excited and to go into a long rant about why everyone should do it. I will try not to push it too much in this post.

An easy way to put this, and a common phrase, is simply losing weight makes a person a smaller version of him or herself, while weightlifting changes the physique. I can really nod my head to this. I went from average weight, to scrawny and fragile, to know pretty muscular. I am earning those rounded glutes, the bulge in my quads, and capped shoulders. While before I was just a delicate boney version of my average self due to anorexia, now I reflect a different version of fitness. Despite contrary belief, I am not huge from lifting heavy. In fact, weightlifting can be made to shape an awesome feminine physique.

This is my tips for those fellow women out there. Train your whole body, but put focus on certain parts. Building up the upper back, shoulders, and then the lower body makes your waist appear smaller. When working out the abs, I recommend not using heavy weights for the oblique. There will be the chance it will make your waist wider. Female bikini model competitor Jen Howard said she made that mistake, and it took two years for the muscle to atrophy back into a smaller waist. Working the legs vary on the person. Some women want defined hamstrings, thick quads and prominent abductors (outer thighs). Some women want lean legs that with slight muscular definition, but have a popping booty. Well, you just do you. Make your body something what you desire. And weightlifting can be strategized to get the body you really want, instead of settling what the smaller version of you is.

Weightlifting can also be considered rather simple too. For average results for the beginner, three times doing the whole body is good. Other people like doing upper/lower body days. I follow a program by Bret Contreras, which gave me absolutely positively amazing results. Doctor Bret Contreras specializes in training bikini models and physique competitors, and is famously known as “the Glute Guy” and the inventor of a few exercises. He recommends weightlifting four times a week with a full-body routine. Women have faster muscle recovery and noticeable strength in the legs, so they can be trained harder and more frequently. I agree with this, and am pleased with my progress. The women he has trained have rose to the top in competing. Basically, Bret is awesome.

Anyways, back to my rant. Weightlifting have the ability to change a person’s physique, as I have already stated. It can also be empowering. To lift a heavy barbell off the ground by sheer force, drop to an ass to grass squat in perfect form with a loaded barbell displayed on your shoulders, bicep curling 60 lbs, it’s f*cking awesome. Fellow women I have helped in the gym were able to build self-esteem. Instead of focusing on being smaller, they focused on wanting to be strong. That attitude change can make it more motivating to participate in fitness activities.

So. Weightlifting is good for self-esteem and changing your body. I could go on and on about it. So I’ll end my rant here.

Leave a Reply

