Minimalism: The Capsule Wardrobe

“Ugh, I have nothing to wear.” “Why do I own so many t-shirts?” “There was no need for me to buy yet another thing on sale, as I’ll probably never wear it.”

Does any of this sound like you? Then perhaps a capsule wardrobe will work for you!

What is a Capsule Wardrobe?

A capsule wardrobe is generally owning a small amount of clothing and accessories, but having it be pieces that go together. There is an interesting statistic that most women only wear around 40% of their wardrobe. I believe that to be true.

I had a huge closet overflowing with clothes before. And all of it was similar, or pieces that I realized I would never actually wear. Several times a month I’d go out shopping for even more clothes that I didn’t need, as it would be an impulse purchase. “Oh! This is on sale! Why not?” Or “I’m having a crummy day and I should buy whatever I want.” Does any of this sound familiar?

I had a wake-up call that I truly did not need all that clothing. There is no real reason for me to own three plain grey long-sleeve cardigans or four neutral striped t-shirts. Often half of my wardrobe was duplicates, or items that didn’t match with anything I could pair it with. Getting dressed in the morning was a hassle because I had to sort through so much clothes, and nothing was what I really wanted. While digging through my overflowing drawers I’d feel guilty for buying so many things I never wore.

This is where the capsule wardrobe comes in. A capsule wardrobe is based off of things a person loves and what their style truly is. Normally there is a color scheme so all the clothes can easily match something. Some people eliminate their clothes and accessories down to around thirty pieces, while others do it around sixty. It all depends on what a person is comfortable with.

How to Create a Capsule Wardrobe

A sure-fire way to get a wake-up call is to pull everything wearable (including scarves, bags, and shoes) out of the closet and onto the floor. I was flabbergasted at how much I owned to where I was a tad bit ashamed. I didn’t want to be the type of person reliant on possessions to make me feel happy for a few hours. The next step is to count how many things you own total. Break that down into smaller categories. Categories can be types of tops, bottoms, casual wear, or evening wear. Take note of what you own the most of and what you wear the least.

Keep a general idea of what color scheme you want. Choose a neutral palette, a couple of base colors, then accent pieces. This color scheme should be easily matchable to everything in your closet. My neutral scheme is black/grey/white. Red and blue are my base colors. Mint and coral are my accent colors. No matter what I throw together, the colors will compliment each other.

Here are examples of clothing categories:

-Tank Tops – T-Shirts -Mid-length Shirts – Long-Sleeve

-Dresses – Skirts – Sweaters – Layering Pieces

– Plain Jeans -Ripped Jeans – Other types of Jeans

Count how many are in each category. Often having around five to seven pieces of each type of top is perfect. Having three pairs of pants from each category is great. The number of skirts and dresses should reflect your style and how often you actually wear them. The next step would be removing duplicates, and settling on favorite pieces.

When all your clothes are flattering and what you love, you will rarely feel like you have no clothes.

Personally, I am excited to get dressed. Each clothing item is a favorite that never lets me down. A bonus is when I only own figure flattering, well-made pieces I am pretty much guaranteed to look put together the majority of the time. I highly recommend a capsule wardrobe to anyone who struggles with feeling inadequate with what they own.

Example Outline (found on Pinterest)Capsule Wardrobe

 

Leave a Reply

