mental health

Three Coping Skills for Depression

Depression is certainly a mental illness with a lot of consequences. Lack of energy, decreased motivation, and low self-worth takes it’s toll. I used to have chronic depression for an extremelt long time, and found a useful way to cope. It’s all about your mentality to be honest.

Depression makes you not want to do anything because you don’t see the point in it. Then you feel guilty for having an ever growing to-do list that is not getting completed, and a cycle begins. Even with depression, you can only let this happen for so long before there are serious consequences for not meeting basic human expectations.

You have to stop playing the victim and be pro-active. Even if you have to drag yourself through the motions, at least you did them. That alone, while having depression, is quite an accomplishment. That is how you show life that nothing you tear you down. You got to be the boss of yourself.

Here are things that can help:

  1. Keeping a Schedule

I have always been a huge advocate for this. I don’t want you to jam pack everything you can in one day until you crash then never want to do it again. What I want is for you to figure out how long each task will take, then measure it out into your day while allowing yourself down-time. Often people with depression have periods during the day they are slightly better. For me it is in the morning, hence I try to do everything in the morning.

2) Lower Dissonance

An easy way to sum up dissonance is the cruddy feelings you get when you are not being how you want to be. I want to be successful. I want to be rather stoic and be able to deal with anything that comes my way, all while having an optimistic attitude. I study nihilism and stoicism to benefit my attitude, and try to work it into my life. Living up to the be the ideal me in my head is definitely worth it, although trying new things to be more assertive and confident can be uncomfortable.

3) Engage in some form of Self-Care

My self-care is working on what is meaningful to me. Depression can make it hard to do anything. But doing nothing is worse than forcing yourself to do things. 

Here are some ideas of self-care:

  • Cooking several batches of your favorite meal
  • Changing your appearance
  • Engaging in a hobby
  • Doing a creative project
  • Reading one of your favorite books
  • Read self-improvement articles online
  • Spend time with friends — go out somewhere if possible
  • Play with your pet or go play with a friend’s pet, if not visit the animal shelter
  • Take up a mindless activity like puzzles, Sudoku, crocheting, stretching, or organizing
Leave a Reply

