How to Beat Procrastination

Procrastination is a gap between between intention and action. You have an idea of what you want to do, but you neglect doing it because you don’t feel like it. You’re setting yourself up for failure by letting motivation be your main source of drive. Like I have said numerous times on this blog, discipline trumps motivation every single time. Motivation is fleeting and simply make things feel fun. Having the discipline to do things you don’t want to do is how you beat procrastination. Instead of fretting or denying whatever you have to do, you take charge and just do it.

What helps is having an identity. If you view yourself as being your own boss or an alpha in life, it will cause dissonance if you aren’t on top of things. All the great CEO’s, leaders, and fitness stars of the world are on top of their duties. There are definitely days they don’t feel like working, but they identify themselves as a do-er instead of a dreamer. That strong role is what drives them.

Personally I feel like crap if I don’t get my projects, homework, and gym time done. I fret over it and feel like a loser, especially if I wasted time being on the computer instead. I choose to be alpha in everything I do, so I go ahead to fill that role. Now a lot of people say I’m a hard worker, reliable, and focused, which are all great compliments.

Fulfilling your role of being an alpha, or being successful, does not mean procrastinating. There is no room in your life for that. It means sitting down, and creating success.

Leave a Reply

