Minimalism, Consumerism, and Improving Your Spending Habits

In 2017, the population is generally run by consumerism. Social media, ads, and personal insecurity drive you to buy and spend. The truth is is that consumerism thrives on insecurity while telling the lie that if you buy this, you will feel better. They tell you that buying this gadget, makeup, or clothes will change your reality into something better. Self-esteem and how we perceive ourselves can be highly based off consumerism and what we own. It is a lie. And an expensive one.

How many times have you bought a brand because it is popular? How often did advertising encourage you to make impulse purposes? It’s interesting because in a poll lead by researchers, millennials are just fine making numerous impulse purchases, while a different poll from the same researchers concluded that millennials would rather spend money on experiences than material items. Quite the contradiction. All your purchases add up at the end of the year.

Minimalism will help ease dependency on material items, and build your self-esteem in the process. I found that after streamlining my wardrobe and makeup, while choosing to be ethically if possible, my self-esteem improved. As a woman it is tempting to be absorbed with my appearance, but I am not that way anymore. By escaping the consumerism trap I value my personality, habits, and behavior more.

Choosing minimalism as a lifestyle can improve your mental health as well as your spending habits. They work in tangent. Here are some ways to improve your spending habits:

 

  • What do you I need? When walking into a store there are so many tempting sales that offer a so-so item on good price. Many go crazy with the sales, spending more money on cheap items they don’t need instead of spending less money on what they do need. I used to fall victim to that. Sales were my weakness. However, when I walk into any mall and come out with exactly what I was looking for my wallet is still thick.
  • Minimalism is the antagonist of busyness and clutter.  As long as you only purchase what is needed you will stay within the confines of minimalism. Since I only buy what I need, my mind and my space is free of clutter. I am not weighed down by too many possessions to distract myself from my core values.
  • Minimalism is part of my values. Withholding my values eases inner dissonance. I become unhappy when I am not following my moral code. A life with minimalism helps me focus on productivity, improvement, and happiness. When I deem possessions as having too much value than what they are worth, I tend to stray from my desired path. Reminding myself of this helps me make smart instead of impulsive purchases.
  • What I own doesn’t define me. My money should never go towards building an image. Maintaining an image is very expensive in the long-run too. Examining how we use our money to mold our self to the public’s approval can prove to be interesting. When I am done buying the needed material items to make my image meet my standards, then I do not need buy anymore. Have your image be classic and timeless, and you will save money.
  • Minimalism gives me happiness that can never be bought. In today’s society of wanting more, it is easy to lose appreciation of what true happiness is. Consumerism pushes people to keep buying more in order to be happy. Real happiness can never be bought. When you invest your happiness into an outside source, you will never be consistently happy. Stop following this herd-mentality and stop doing mindless spending.

 

Breaking away from consumerism may seem radical, but in my opinion it is part of wellness. If you want to save money you have to break out of the trap that consumerism actually is. Once out of the trap, you will use and appreciate what you have a zest, plus save a considerable amount of money. The choice is yours.

 

Leave a Reply

