Minimalism Beauty Challenge: Pan 17 in 2017

My makeup and beauty collection is average, or I’d even say on the smaller side. But I do not recall every completely using up one tube of lipstick, pan of eyeshadow, or contour palette. If anything I forget about it in favor of some pretty new product I wanted to try out — that looks similar to it most of the time. One thing I will say I ended up unintentionally hoarding was lotions and body washes because I was searching for one that would best help my extremely dry skin. Whenever I did come close to finishing a body wash or lotion I would switch to another instead of completely finishing it for whatever reason. It is not ok in my book, because I want a truly minimalist lifestyle and want to no longer neglect my products.

I also am starting not to see the point in owning more makeup than I need. I should have one of every item. For example, I got two Urban Decay palettes, one of neutrals and one with color. I got a white single, brown single, a red single, and an orange single of NYX eyeshadow. I got an array of lipsticks that are unique. I got an Urban Decay bronzer palette and a Wet n Wild contour palette. This is all the “extra makeup” I will ever need besides foundation, concealer, mascara, and eyeliner. If I have a well-rounded collection, why would I need more? Why spend money every month on what are most likely duplicates? Makeup also has an expiration date. I would hate to have to throw away makeup I rarely used because it was expired. That doesn’t sound very minimalist.

Another inspiration for this is that I watched this ridiculous shopping haul by Youtuber luvablebiet (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_uEFPJpXTCA&t=961s). She spent over $3,500 in one go at Sephora. What made it so cringe-worthy and shameful was that she kept saying “I deserve this. I need this.” I got a lot of things to say about that, but I will spare myself. The benefit of watching seven minutes of the video is it gave me even more of a chase for a minimalistic lifestyle.

So, one of my goals for this year is using up seventeen products by the end of this year. As in, completely gone. A good way of thinking about this is that I will enjoy using my poorly neglected makeup, body products, and hair products.

Here is my list for Pan 17

  1. Wet ‘n’ Wild Contour Palette
  2. Urban Decay Naked Flushed Palette
  3. Loreal True Matte Foundations (two containers counted as one)
  4. Mayebelline Fit Me Concealer
  5. Nyx Liquid Lingerie Lipstick “Embellishment”
  6. NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream “SMLC”
  7. NYX Liquid Lipstick “Sandstorm”
  8. Maybelline Color Jolt (Red)
  9. All Chapsticks
  10. Loreal TruNaked Eyeshadow Palette in “Rose”
  11. NYX Eyeshadow Single  “LOL”
  12. Maybelline Color Tattoo Metal “Inked in Pink”
  13. Wet n Wild Eyeliner “White”
  14. Splat Hair Dye (Dark Red)
  15. Splat Hair Dye (Bright Red)
  16. Garnier Fructis Hairspray
  17. All my body washes (counting as one)
  18. Rue 21 Perfume “Revert”

Feel free to comment on what products you would like to use up too!

2 thoughts on “Minimalism Beauty Challenge: Pan 17 in 2017

Leave a Reply

