minimalism

Minimalism and Being a Workaholic

Society thrives on being rushed and cramming as much as possible into a single day. The world has really become about “living in the fast lane.” This is not an easy lifestyle, and it can put your health at risk. Being consistently stressed and hurried has been linked to high blood pressure, cardiovascular disease, and ulcers. Often those who are workaholics, such as I am, are never satisfied with the work they do. It’s time to slow down if we want to preserve our sanity and our health.

Before minimalism I was a serious workaholic. I would be working on various projects from the time I woke up until I went to bed. Occasionally I would break down about how frustrated I was with my routine, desperately wanting a break. Inevitably I would crash, then spend the day doing absolutely nothing whilst feeling guilty. The key to fix this is balance.

Minimalism preaches keeping life as simple as possible to reduce any unnecessary stress. This definitely includes time management and prioritizing. A person should select an appropriate amount of productive tasks that can be done mindfully and thoroughly. They should be the important ones, and what holds the most value to you. If it is not important and doesn’t hold anything at stake, then don’t lose sleep over it. You have to ruthlessly cut away the unimportant.

I realized my to-do list for Monday alone could be distributed throughout the entire week. Upon this realization, I decided to make after four in the afternoon my downtime. I aim to be productive before four, and make sure afterwards I am doing only what I truly want to do. This often involves playing a Nintendo 3Ds game called Animal Crossing, reading a self-improvement book, and soaking my feet in Epsom Salt because they are often sore from sports. It’s essential I get this time to myself because it prevents me from being burned out later in the week.

One reason being a workaholic is against minimalism is because the purpose in doing tasks is not peaceful. The projects are rushed through and are merely something that must get done. A minimalistic approach would be mindfully completing the task without multitasking, Additionally you admire the value in doing it.

Here is an example. Often I have homework, various DIY projects, and a gym routine to uphold. Those could be considered a burden and a chore to trudge through. Instead, I choose to see the value in each task. Homework is a chance to get smarter and apply my knowledge in my career. Various DIY projects, while tedious, are a relaxing outlet for me. Going to the gym to weightlift, play racquetball, or do yoga is basic care that gives me energy and a fit physique. Each task I complete mindfully without any distractions. Being immersed in them can even be cathartic. The change in attitude makes a crazy schedule a peaceful one.

Being peaceful is important. Workaholics have an increased risk of cardiovascular disease, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and a weakened immune system. This is because of the impact on stress on the body. Retiring from being a workaholic saves not only your sanity, but your health as well.
Minimalism is streamlining your schedule and eliminating the unimportant to make room for what does matter. Try to keep a daily planner and be thoughtful when making your to-do list. Today’s choices are up to you.

Leave a Reply

