Self-Improvement

How to Get Back on Track

I, myself, have gotten off-track recently. In January and February was on top of the world in accomplishments and a steady drive of dedication. I was smashing my workouts, blitzing through assignments, hanging out with people, cutting out negativity… leading a productively balanced life. But then I drastically fell off track to where I became a useless lump in the past eight days. Which leads me scratching my head wondering what happened.

Today, March 14th on a freezing morning, I am getting back to where I am used to be. No — I am going to be even better than I was before. There was so much growing shame and irritation with how I was being lazy that I just had to make a change. And then last night I got a taste of settling back into my old routine. I was productive with hobbies, stayed on top of my habits, and focused on minimalism. I was very proud, which made me crave wanting to embark on the quest of self-improvement. So this morning I whipped out my planner, and put in the page of everything I need to change about myself, along with a mini plan of how to do so.

Little things also contributed to getting my motivation back. I deep-cleaned the apartment, engaged in a small “spa session”, and did miscellaneous tasks that needed to get done.This relates to self-efficacy, which is how capable a person views themselves. After my setback and continued failures, my self-efficacy plummeted, Then this morning by doing numerous easy tasks, then made an easy-to-follow guide for future success, I was like “Yeah, I got this.” Also, reading Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson gave me a pick-me-up, along with reading motivational articles.

This is a short guide of how to get back on track.

 

  1. After you wake up, mentally note everything you’re grateful for.
  2. Do yoga, running, or weightlifting. Just loosen your body and get your blood pumping.
  3. Take a mindful shower. Imagine the water washing away your worries and previous mistakes.
  4. Dress well. Dress for success.
  5. Make a list of everything you need to do that day.
  • Plan a social outing
  • Do homework/ plan workday
  • Figure out what errands need to get done
  • Schedule time to work on hobbies

6) Do what is on your list.

7) Throughout the day remind yourself of why you need to get back on track, or tap into motivational resources.

8) Eat healthy meals and drink plenty of water. You have to stop doing those poor eating habits.

9) Go to bed on time.

I find this little routine really helps. I hope it helps everyone else!

2 thoughts on “How to Get Back on Track”

Leave a Reply

