How to Balance College and the Gym

I understand the busyness of a college student. In fact, I am one right now. Despite being on campus approximately six hours a day, running errands, and working at a women’s shelter, I find time to workout. In the niche of my life that I talk about frequently, I created a fitness regime.

If you are interested in a fitness routine, but say you are too busy, say to yourself:

“Health is not a priority. Feeling good is not a priority. Being unhealthy doesn’t matter. College is my everything.”

It doesn’t feel that great telling yourself this. If you keep making excuses of why college prevents your from leading an active lifestyle, then this is message you are saying to yourself and society. Quit making excuses for your poor sedentary choices and head to the gym. Here is how.

 

  1. Plan out what you want to do at the gym. What are your goals? Maybe you want to lose weight by doing cardio. Or maybe you are skinny-fat and want to be muscular. Either way, your main choices are the weights or cardio. I recommend both for either of your goals. Yet regardless of what I recommend, coming up with a solid plan of your choosing will set you up for action.
  2. How much time can you dedicate, and when? Half an hour is all you need to get results. It is a myth to think you have to spend hours at the gym to be fit. Another thing to reflect on is when is the best time for you? I recommend early in the morning, because if you planned later in the day you have a bigger chance to procrastinate it. Whatever will work for you, just do it.
  3. Pack your gym bag and lay out your clothes ahead of time. I still do this myself despite having the same gym routine for three years now. Every night I layout my gym clothes and my gear, then as soon as I wake up in the morning I slip it on. Even though I don’t go to the gym for another two hours, being dressed for it makes me feel more motivated to go. If you feel like you might be too busy that day to workout, pack your gym bag just in case you find a window of time to exercise. If you are prepared the more likely your workout it going to happen.
  4. Realize how important health and fitness is. Reading up on all the benefits of it will give you intrinsic motivation, which always trumps extrinsic motivation. Aesthetics are always a plus of exercise, but that goal will only give you fuel for so long. Instead come up with non-aesthetic goals or reasons to workout.

 

You only get one body in this lifetime, and you don’t want to trash it. Your everyday decisions are what builds up to your future wellbeing. The habits you have today may be hard to break, but anything unhealthy should not have a place in your life. Years from now after developing a healthy lifestyle you would’ve wished you started sooner. I promise you won’t regret choosing fitness over being sedentary.
Therefore, add the gym to your routine. Your wellbeing should never be comprised. Stop making excuses about poor time management and just get to the gym.

3 thoughts on “How to Balance College and the Gym

  1. Great post! Though I am not in college anymore I feel like many of these apply to working life as well. You really just have to squeeze in some exercise here and there. That’s why, during the summer, I bike to work and back, and I try to walk as much as possible. I also try to schedule in exercises that I can do at home, like squats and lunges. I do them for a duration of one song that I like, and the same with different exercise. It’s intense, short, but it works. Plus, I don’t have to go to a gym.

    Would you be interested in sharing your thoughts and posts with our community of health, fitness and nutrition enthusiasts over at “The Active You”? We’d love to hear what you have to say. You can check us out over at https://www.facebook.com/groups/theactiveyou!

    Like

    1. First of all, I’m flattered with the invitation to be part of “The Active You.” I will check it out in a bit! And also, kudos to choosing to have an active lifestle. I will say it is one thing to go to the gym, then being sedentary. It is awesome for people who can’t go to the gym, but are active most of the day. Are the healthier ones? I’m not qualified to say. Food for thought though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

