Minimalism: Capsule Makeup and Why the Rainbow is Unnecessary

I used to be a borderline makeup collector. I was/am not a makeup artist, and am not even that great at makeup. I was just convinced that I needed each new shade or palette that came out. Drawn in by the pretty packaging and the well written descriptions of why this product was the best one yet. Now I can say the beauty industry is truly addictive.

Which is why I went minimalistic with my makeup collection. I still may have a bigger collection than most other minimalists, but I’m choosing not to buy anything unless I use something up. If I wanted to downsize my makeup I would have to throw it away, which is more being wasteful than a minimalist. So what got me started in minimalizing my makeup collection?

Two things happened.

What made me cut back on purchasing new items is when I realized I had multiples of the same colors of eyeshadows. Seriously, I had four orange eyeshadows and three pink eyeshadows. It occurred that by the time I hit pan on one of them, the rest will be expired. I skimmed over the rest of my makeup collection, and nothing was too excessive besides lipsticks and chapsticks.

Another reason I am now cutting back even further is that I broke free of a mold I was put in and started really dressing like how I want to dress: androgynously. It is a very minimalist, easy, casual style that is so appealing to me and suits my personality. I do wear makeup to gently contour and enhance my features. But I now use about three eyeshadows, an eyeliner pencil, contour palette, and the base makeup. It completes the look. I’m still hanging on to my other makeup to experiment with, but otherwise that is what I keep in the most accessible area and store away the rest of my makeup.

Anyways, with makeup it is so easy to get caught up in the rush of the purchase that you forget you pretty much have the same thing at home. And then most, I assume, don’t use the product that much because they already got so much other makeup. There is no reason to have duplicates of items, with only a couple exceptions. In fact, it is almost even better to own less makeup because then you are left with all of your favorites.
Here is the gist of my makeup collection.

My Makeup Capsule

  • Rimmel London Pressed Powder
  • Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer
  • Urban Decay Bronzing Palette
  • Wet n Wild Contour Palette
  • NYX Liquid Illuminator
  • Naked 2 Palette
  • Urban Decay Ammo Palette
  • Loreal Rose Palette (?)
  • NYX Liquid Eyeliner
  • Mascara
  • An unknown brand black eyeliner pencil
  • Wet n Wild White Pencil Liner
  • NYX Orange Eyeshadows
  • Unknown Cool Brown Eyeshadow Pot
  • About four lipsticks and lots of chapsticks

This is the gist of what I have. I find it is more than enough for me because I don’t tend to do anything too crazy. However, there are people who do collect and experiment with makeup as a hobby, which I think is fine. Makeup is a form of art, thus people need supplies.

It’s all based on what is a practical form of minimalism for an individual.

Leave a Reply

