Minimalism and Health

Being healthy doesn’t have to complicated. All health really hones in on are two things: diet and exercise. With all the vast amount of information on the big, bad interwebz, it’s easy to blow the process to being healthy out of proportion. And that makes it seem…well…impossible. But it doesn’t have to be that way at all.

Getting healthy mainly requires just one goal from both diet and exercise: being consistent. You can’t expect to get results eating clean only 25% of the time, like eating a salad a day and feeling like the next fitness guru. Neither does exercising intensely six times a week for half a month, then not working out for a whole month won’t give you results. Rather, it’s doing a “‘minimalist'” routine.

This is my minimalist approach to diet. It’s basic knowledge to eat whole, unprocessed foods the majority of the time. I try to load my plate up with a variety of foods. A source of protein, some grains, and then a large serving of vegetables and fruit. For sanity, it makes sense to treat yourself to one thing every week. I decided to eliminate only one thing from my diet, and that is sugar. It would be too complicated to eliminate too many other foods if I don’t have a health condition. I do calculate calories for weightlifting, but I use apps to make tracking easier. That’s all there really is for eating clean and getting lean.

My workout routine is very simplistic too. Six times a week at four a.m I do yoga and Piyo. Four times a week I go to the gym at 5:50 am on the dot. I follow a weightlifting  program that I pay for every month that has been giving me great results. Since the weightlifting program only takes me around thirty-forty minutes, as everything is superset, I like to push myself with Crossfit for the remaining ten minutes. At Crossfit I pick the same basic exercises because with consistency, as then I will get very strong with them.

The balance part is a gentle activity for a greater frequency of training, and a hard activity for a lower frequency of training week. I highly recommend paying for a workout program that will last you for at least four months. If you can’t afford it, get ideas from Youtube or Pinterest. I like to print out the exercises from online resources so I have ideas if I can’t do my program for whatever reason. Like a back-up. Being prepared helps you stay consistent and saves you a lot of time and doubts of picking exercises tailored to your needs.

If you want to make additional changes to improve your health further, here are some recommendations.

  • Oil-pulling. This is swishing coconut oil in your mouth to help eliminate the bad bacteria in your mouth, plus whiten your smile.
  • Herbal Tea. Different types of tea have different effects on your mood and body. I really like green tea to boost my energy, and dandelion root tea to help with bloating.
  • Excellent Skin-Care. I consider skin-care to be part of general health, as the skin is your largest organ after all.
  • Volunteering. Doing volunteer work is an excellent way to stay on your feet. In the warmer seasons I walk the dogs at the local animal shelter, and in the past even did some gardening or split wood.

This isn’t so complicated overall. Or at least I don’t feel it is. A shortened idea of what a minimalistic routine would be the following.

!!!CONSISTENCY!!!

 

 

  • Eat unprocessed foods
  • Eat protein, grains, fruits, and veggies for most meals
  • Don’t eliminate or restrict too many things–it gets complicated after a while
  • Find a ready-made routine to take the guessing out for you
  • Set a specific time, and a certain amount of time, you exercise. Stick to it. Many years later it will become habit.
  • Pick a hard activity for a few times a week
  • Pick an easy activity for most of the week

This is the gist of how minimalism can be applied to healthy living.

2 thoughts on “Minimalism and Health

  1. I think the key is moderation, in everything. Gotta have a balance of “healthy” and junk foods, active and lazy days. Going too far with any kind of diet/fitness thing isn’t healthy, physically or mentally.

    Like

    1. That depends. If it’s your passion — then go all out with it. Same with those who make it their career as a model or an athlete. But if you are just looking to be healthy, then a simple and balanced approach is best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

